Thursday, March 17, 2011

Follow the fictional Callahan family as it navigates the events of the first half of the Twentieth Century. Read a free sample of Spirit of Union Trilogy by Gordon Ryan without leaving your browser!

A trilogy from Gordon Ryan, in the best tradition of sweeping family sagas, follows the Callahan family from its roots in Ireland to the US and around the world as the clan navigates the turbulent history of the first half of the Twentieth Century.

Here's the set-up for Spirit of Union Trilogy:

Gordon Ryan has been a traditionally published author since 1994. In 2010, Pegasus Publishing republished each of his former novels and released his new thrillers, State of Rebellion and Uncivil Liberties.

Vol. I - Destiny: Fleeing an abusive father and a hopeless life in Ireland in 1895, nineteen-year-old Tom Callahan takes passage on a ship bound for America. On board, he meets Katrina Hansen, a young Norwegian woman traveling to Utah. It's not a likely match. The brash Irishman is a Catholic, a brawler and a young man without prospects. Destiny is a sprawling historical novel set at the turn of the 19th century, played out in such far-flung places as New York City, the gold fields of Alaska and Old Mexico.

Vol. II - Conflict: It's 1917 and American has entered World War I. The Callahan's son has joined with what President Woodrow Wilson is calling "the fight to make the world safe for democracy." Set against turbulent events in world history and filled with vivid scenes as well as tender emotions, Conflict takes the reader around the world.

Vol. III - Heritage: Tom and Katrina Callahan's three children have grown up and are making their way in a world that is propelling itself toward World War II. Tess has her heart set on a Hollywood movie career; PJ is a successful sheep rancher in New Zealand and Tommy is pursuing his career in the Marine Corps and learning not only about war, but about the perils of romance. In this, the final volume of Spirit of Union, Gordon Ryan follows Tom and Katrina into their middle and late years. Living in a time when aviation is becoming a viable industry, the stock market is booming and Hitler's evil machinations are on the horizon, the world, and the Callahans, are embroiled on every front. Set in Hawaii, the Dominican Republic, South America, Great Britain and the United States, Heritage is filled with scenes and characters that will linger in your mind long after you close the book.

About the Author

Gordon Ryan is a writer with a varied history. He has lived and worked in six foreign nations and a dozen or more states, including Alaska. He was a Recon Marine in the aftermath of the Cuban Missile Crisis, and served in the Air Force in Thailand during the Vietnam War.  He also served as a member of the American Embassy staff in Dublin, Ireland, during the violent seventies. 

His first published novel, Dangerous Legacy, was released in 1994 and he has published nine more over the intervening years.  The "Pug Connor" novels, State of Rebellion and Uncivil Liberties are his newest releases. 

Needing to feed his family, he never gave up his day job as a city manager and chief executive of large homeowners' associations, but once he discovered the joys of fiction, writing has been the driving force. Now writing full-time, Gordon and his wife, Colleen, spend their time between the American northwest and the beautiful South Pacific.

And here, in the comfort of your own browser, is your free sample:

No comments:

Post a Comment