Thursday, April 15, 2010

Bestselling Author M.C. Beaton Offers eBook Exclusives of Two Previously Out-of-Print Historical Romance Series "Six Sisters" and "The Traveling Matchmaker" in the Kindle Store

Amazon has just announced yet another major signing that allows it to expand the largest commercial ebook catalog with an exclusive on out-of-print series from a bestselling author, M.C. Beaton. Here's a link to Beaton's Amazon Author page.

First, and foremost, of course, this is one more example of great news for Kindle readers, regardless of whether they are getting to the Kindle Store on the Kindle or on a PC, Mac, BlackBerry, iPhone or iPad Touch. But it's also an important step on Amazon's path of continuing to keep the Kindle platform a go-to venue for growing numbers readers, as we discussed in this earlier post.

Here's the guts of Amazon's news release this morning:

News Release

Bestselling Author M.C. Beaton Makes Electronic Editions of Two Historical Romance Series Available Exclusively in the Kindle Store

Previously out-of-print series "Six Sisters" and "The Traveling Matchmaker" now available for the first time electronically

SEATTLE, Apr 15, 2010 (BUSINESS WIRE) (NASDAQ: AMZN) today announced that two historical romance series of six titles each from the bestselling author M.C. Beaton--also known by her real name Marion Chesney--are available exclusively in the Kindle Store ( These books are from the previously out-of-print series "Six Sisters" and "The Traveling Matchmaker." This is the first time any of the titles have been available electronically, and the 12 books will be exclusive to the Kindle Store for one year. Rosetta Books is the publisher of the electronic editions. The Kindle Store now includes over 480,000 books and the largest selection of the most popular books people want to read, including New York TimesBestsellersand New Releases. Over 1.8 million free, out-of-copyright, pre-1923 books are also available to read on Kindle, including titles such as "The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes," "Pride and Prejudice" and "Treasure Island."

"For the first time ever, Marion Chesney's fans will be able to discover and read these previously out-of-print books and enjoy them not only on Kindle, but also on their iPhone, iPod touch, BlackBerry, PC, Mac and iPad," said Melissa Kirmayer, Director, Kindle Content. "With its light weight which makes it fit comfortably in one hand for hours, its e-ink display that is easy on the eyes even in bright daylight and two weeks of battery, Kindle is a great way to read an author as prolific as Marion Chesney--or M.C. Beaton as many know her."

M.C. Beaton is the most well-known pseudonym for author Marion Chesney, who is best known for her two most recent bestselling mystery series "Agatha Raisin" and "Hamish Macbeth,"each of which have been published for several decades. While M.C. Beaton is the pseudonym she reserves for mystery novels, Marion Chesney has also written under the names Ann Fairfax, Jennie Tremaine, Helen Crampton, and Charlotte Ward. All names combined, the author has written over 100 books. These electronic books will be listed under the names M.C. Beaton and Marion Chesney in the Kindle Store.

"I am delighted to think that because of Kindle I am once more back in the Regency period," said Marion Chesney. "I hope Kindle readers have as much fun reading my books as I had writing them!"

Kindle is in stock and available for immediate shipment today at

No comments:

Post a Comment